What you buy is not important but from where you buy is Important
The Diamond 4C's
Every diamond is unique due to its journey from deep depths of the Earth's volcanic pipes all the way to its manufacturing, ready to be set on a piece of diamond jewelry. Yet all diamonds have qualities that all share which allows us to define and evaluate them from one another, called the Diamond 4C's.
The First C : Carat
Also known as Carat Weight is the standard unit of weight used for gems. Each carat (ct.) is equal to 0.200 grams (200 milligrams). Diamonds are weighed to 1/1000 of a carat (0.001) and rounded to the nearest 100th or point. Gems weighing more than 1 carat are usually expressed in carats and decimals. A 1.08 ct. stone would be described as "one point o eight carats" or "one o eight". A diamond that weighs 0.74 ct. is said to weight "seventy-four points" or an "seventy-four pointer."
The Second C : Color
A diamond color is measured from D (colorless) - Z (light yellow tint) color grade. We recommend to stay above an I color grade for an exceptional diamond color. People think that diamonds as colorless but true colorless diamonds are extremely rare.
The Third C : Clarity
Diamond clarity is a measure of a diamond's purity. Imperfections called inclusions or pique are measured from the highest grade, Internally Flawless (IF), Very Very Slightly Included (VVS1 or VVS2), Very Slightly Included (VS1 or VS2), Slightly Included (SI1 - SI3), Included (I1 - I3), to the lowest grade.
The Fourth C : Cut
This refers to the proportions and angles of a diamond's cut. Based on tested scientific formulas that will give the best brilliance of the round diamond. A very well cut diamond will reflect light internally from one facet to another, thus dispersing and reflecting light like several mirrors through the top of the diamond. This will result in a brilliant display of fire bringing a well cut diamond higher on the Diamond Quality Pyramid.